SOPA Awards

About the SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence
The SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence were established in 1999 as a tribute to editorial excellence in both traditional and new media, and were designed to encourage editorial vitality throughout the region. The Awards cover a broad range of categories reflecting Asia's diverse geo-political environment and vibrant editorial scene.

As Asia’s premier publishing accolades, the 2010 SOPA Awards attracted a record 564 entries from publications and digital publishers from across the Asia Pacific region; a true reflection of the Awards' high standing across the region.

Key to the Award's growing success is the high caliber of international judges who preside over the Award entries. The SOPA Awards has consistently secured judges from many of the region's leading newspapers as well as consumer and trade magazines and academics from prestigious universities – a reflection of the stature of the awards. Each year, the number of judges willing to dedicate their time to the Awards has grown. This year the SOPA Awards comprised of professional journalists, design experts, photographic editors and notable academics from the media departments of prestigious universities collaborated to select winners.

The SOPA Awards are coordinated by a committee of publishing professionals from the business and editorial sectors. These dedicated individuals volunteer their time throughout the year to ensure the Award rules, judges, entries, event, sponsorship and promotion all come together smoothly.

Corporate Support
Sponsorship is key to ensuring the Award's growth, and over the past years, SOPA has been fortunate in receiving strong, continuous support from its partners. As the Awards have grown, so too has the interest from corporations, and this year, we look again to the generosity of sponsors to help us deliver the best Awards we can.

International Recognition
The SOPA Awards are supported by a number of international media organisations and regional media industry press; Ifra, International Federation of the Periodical Press (FIPP), the World Editors Forum (WEF), and the editorial division of the World Association of Newspapers (WAN).



Copyright ©2008-11 All rights reserved.